New Chief and Council for Wahta Mohawk Territory

Elections Officer confirms results: new Chief and three new Council members elected

Posted March 15, 10.20pm: After two-and-a-half years without one, there will be a new Chief of Wahta Mohawk Territory: Philip Angus Franks. He was elected Chief in today’s elections.

Elections Officer Veronica McLeod has confirmed the reports posted earlier on Muskoka News Watch of the new council for Wahta.

Philip Angus Franks is the new Chief with 154 votes, defeating his opponent Tim Thompson.

Elected to Council are:

  • Karen Commandant with 156 votes
  • Michael Decaire with 151 votes
  • Teresa Greasley with 146 votes and;
  • Stuart Lane with 114 votes

Three incumbent members of Council – Shirley Hay, Bill Hay and Dan Stock — were unsuccessful in their attempt at re-election.

Related Articles:

Muskoka News Watch, March 15, 2014: Early results show new Council for Wahta

Want to comment on this or any other article on Muskoka News Watch? We welcome interactive discussion and urge you to read About Muskoka News Watch for information about comments. For example, as a poster, you are responsible for all the content of any of your content that you or we publish and you are financially responsible to us for any claim against us by any third party that relates to your User Generated Content.