Muskoka Municipal Councillors Elect become official


Your Guide to Inaugural Council Events:

It will be a week of congratulations and new welcomes at meetings across Muskoka this week as new municipal councils are sworn in to serve the next four years. The public is invited to attend all inaugural ceremonies.

Monday: Georgian Bay, Muskoka Lakes and Huntsville

The first Councillors elect to be sworn in will be in the Township of Georgian Bay as the Council starts its inaugural event at 10am on Monday, December 1st. Members elect of the Township of Muskoka Lakes, and the Town of Huntsville are also on deck Monday and both municipalities have new Mayors taking the head seat their respective Council tables.

In Muskoka Lakes, Don Furniss will start his second term of Council as Mayor after defeating one-term Mayor Alice Murphy, whom sources say has been hired in a financial role for the Wahta Mohawks. New faces at the Muskoka Lakes Council table include Sandy Currie (Ward A), Linda Barrick-Spearn (Ward B) and Tracy Ledger (Ward C). The inauguration ceremonies for Muskoka Lakes take place Monday, December 1 starting at 11:30am upstairs at the Port Carling Community Centre.

In Huntsville, Councillors elect will take the Declaration of Office in the Huntsville Civic Centre at the Algonquin Theatre at 11am. Long-time Councillor Scott Aitchison steps up to the position of Mayor.

Tuesday: Lake of Bays and Gravenhurst

On Tuesday, December 2, the Mayor and Members Elect of the Township of Lake of Bays will hold their 17th inaugural meeting at 9:30 am in the Council Chambers at the Municipal Office in Dwight. That evening, the Inaugural Meeting of the 2014 2018 Council for the Town of Gravenhurst goes ahead at 7pm at the Gravenhurst Opera House.

Wednesday: Bracebridge

Then it’s Bracebridge Council’s turn to take the Declaration of Office on Wednesday, December 3 at 7pm at the Rene M. Caisse Memorial Theatre in Bracebridge. New faces at the Bracebridge Council table include Don Smith (District Councillor), Archie Buie (Draper Ward) and Chris Wilson (Bracebridge Ward).

Next week: District Chair election December 8

The only left over remaining excitement from the 2014 Municipal Election will be finding out who will be elected as District Chair. Stuart Morley, Hugh Mackenzie and Dan Waters are challenging Incumbent District Chair John Klinck. The Mayors and District Councillors will decide which nominee gets Muskoka’s top municipal job via election on Monday, December 8 starting at 7pm. The public is welcome to attend all open meetings of District and municipal councils.

MNW Readers: If you are on our Subscription list, you are now receiving your Direct to Inbox News in a different format. You can choose to Unsubscribe or Update your Subscription Preferences at any time by clicking the link on the bottom of your email news blast.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *