MAHC announces hospital award winners

Five people working for Muskoka Algonquin Healthcare (MAHC) were honoured with awards of excellence at the MAHC’s annual general meeting on June 20, 2016 in Huntsville.

The winners of the ninth annual 2016 Board Award of Excellence awards are:

  • Alanna Major, Registered Nurse, Intensive Care Unit (absent from featured photo)
  • Dan Moloney, Manager, Information Technology
  • Carolann Woods, Environmental Services Aide
  • Laura Derbyshire, Registered Nurse, Clinical Lead
  • Natalie Bubela, Chief Executive Officer

This year, 20 individuals were nominated by their hospital peers. The award is presented to recipients who exemplify MAHC’s values of Accountability, Respect, Optimism, Leadership and Engagement, and recognizes staff and physicians who have made significant achievements in patient- and family-centered care, outstanding management of people, financial or material resources, successfully completed a major project or special assignment beyond what is normally expected, and/or an extraordinary commitment to patient safety.

“The Board Award of Excellence is something the Board looks forward to each and every year,” says incoming Board Chair Evelyn Brown. “We are delighted to be able to recognize the work of MAHC staff and physicians in this manner and congratulate this year’s winners and commend all those who were nominated.”
Other nominee:

Ann Swan, Medical Transcriptionist

Dr. David Mathies, Physician

Dorothy Green, Dietary Aide

Elizabeth Robins, Registered Nurse, Clinical Lead

Erika Strok McLellan, Project Coordinator

Heidi Huggins, Physiotherapy Assistant

Irene Murray, Manager, Ambulatory Services

Kim Rose, Manager, Human Resources

Kristen Bell, Registered Nurse, Obstetrics

Michelle Moseley, Human Resources Business Partner

Noreen Chan, Manager, Diagnostic Imaging & Cardio Respiratory

Patti Connick, Nurse Educator

Dr. Paulette Burns, Physician

Sandy Daughen, Occupational Therapist

Shari Leblanc, Registered Nurse, Intensive Care Unit

Monday’s AGM also included presentations by staff about stroke care and waste diversion at MAHC, and work to create a council to support Muskoka & Area Health System Transformation that will include representation from MAHC.

The AGM was also an opportunity to thank Charles Forret and Gregg Evans for their commitment and dedication as they stepped down from the Board of Directors, and to welcome newly elected Director Beth Goodhew who brings over 20 years of clinical and IT healthcare experience, including expertise in Diagnostic Imaging, EMR and Perinatal services.

The new executive of the Board of Directors includes Board Chair Evelyn Brown, Vice Chair Phil Matthews Treasurer Brenda Gefucia as. The updated list of Board members can be found online <> .

The MAHC Board of Directors is a volunteer body that plays a key leadership role in setting policies and visioning for the hospital and the delivery of health care in the communities served by MAHC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *